Shared on the Alright Mom Facebook page, the meme perfectly captures the four stages of shoe warfare that even cool dads like Adam Driver face on the reg:

  1. Denial “Reed, I know you want to keep playing with your trucks, but we need to get our shoes on now so we don’t miss the bus. I bet you can do it super fast!”
  2. Bargaining “Ok, now we’re definitely going to be late. If you can get your shoes on before I count to 10, you can have a quarter for the vending machine after school and I won’t rip the heads off of your stuffed animals.”
  3. Anger “PUT your FOOT into that SHOE and CLOSE the VELCRO or I will… WAIT WHEN DID YOU TAKE YOUR SOCKS OFF?!”
  4. Resignation “That’s ok. He’s so strong-willed, he probably doesn’t need to go to school. We can just stay home… forever.” It’s ok, parents. We’ve all been there. Probably this morning.